Goal Question During An Interview

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 82)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

admin in Bay Area, California

74 months ago

Okay, I'm in my 50's, actually 57 and been an admin for 10+ years except temping that last 2 years.

Now going out for an interview and getting the question "What are you goals for the next 5 years"?

How does one answer that kind of question at my age? I dont really have a career goal. Though I'm being very picky where I apply and want to only work at certain companies and location, I need a job to pay bills.

Any help on how to answer this kind of question?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (125) / No (14) Reply - Report abuse

Sheribow in North Andover, Massachusetts

74 months ago

I've got the same problem with that question I'm 54 and still looking for work. I've been a admin forever and like you....want a job to pay bills. Yes I am particular to what type of company I work for also. I wish I new how to answer it. Seems like whenever you are honest....that's not a good thing for some. I'd love to answer "to retire".....not working anymore, living a good life....I have an interview on Monday. Hope there is someone who can give us a good answer.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (20) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

74 months ago

Good luck Sheribow with your interview on Monday. I have a phone one later today and hopefull if I pass this one I can have a face to face one next week.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Patricia in Ottawa, Ontario

74 months ago

I read this comment while at work today and made a mental note to go on the site today to give you my take on it. Here is the way I would tackle the question "What do you see yourself doing five years from now"?