Black and Brown Apartment Managers

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

rolandgroce in New Orleans, Louisiana

46 months ago

I'm a pretty open and proud gay black single parent and have had experience managing an apartment with my ex-boyfriend who is a white man (not that it matters)... I am now moving around the country and I really like the job of apartment manager, and I do it very very well, as I am also an interior design student. I wonder WHY are there no or not many black and brown skinned apartment managers.... I have also worked with Employment Security and I understand the trends as well as the prejudices and stereo-types of yes, white people and I hate it, but it never stops me from wanting to find a nice apartment building to manage with any color residents. Isn't it pretty obvious all across this country (where in Europe, there is diversity in this field), that there is something terribly wrong and therefore a lot of ignorance and discrimination going on in the field of property management? I don't care to read through hateful and racist comments but more importantly, I'd like to hear why this is happening. Please comment....

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

T in Modesto, California

46 months ago

Maybe people of color dont apply for the jobs much? There would be lots of properties that would thrive with a black or/and or gay manager, especially in California. Maybe you are looking in the wrong state? Come try your luck in California and I'm sure you wont be disappointed. Just dont come with a chip on your shoulder, we arent into that.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

rolandgroce in New Orleans, Louisiana

46 months ago

Thank you for your response. Very reasonable. How ironic, San Francisco is the place I'm taking my job search and energy. Wish me luck. Warm Regards.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse