finishing architecture school and very worried

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (13)

PIRULODR in Bronx, New York

55 months ago

It sucks, I know. I'm in the same boat as you. Finished grad school in september and have not been able to find anything. The job market is rough, I even have work experience, 2 yrs and nothing. Most people I know in the field are looking for work because they've been laid off or what not. If I was you I'd go to grad school and bang it out, hopefully things will be better by the time you're done. For kicks check out this website pimpingarchitects.blogspot.com/

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

Broke Architect in Norfolk, Virginia

47 months ago

Well, Im in that boat with all you guys as well. I have a 5-year degree in Architecture and a 4-year degree in Civil Engineering, with a Minor in CM. I was laidoff in 2008 and looking to get into nursing my self. It doesnt look like its geting any better. I also deffaulted on my student loans. So, use some of that energy to stay in school for nursing, dude! Good luck bro!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

EMG in Westwood, New Jersey

46 months ago

I am in the same boat, I have 10+ yrs of arch. experience and out of job for almost 2 years in NJ. I feel very hopeless and seriously considering a career change. I also learned that the medical field is the way to go. As it is one the the few fields that always in high demand, and will survive any economy (there will always be sick people regardless).

Another conern is my age. I am already in my late 30's with family/kids commitments. By the time I am done with any medical related certificate/Assoc. program, I don't know if I could compete with the younger folks for the jobs.

Good luck to you all.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

de in Houston, Texas

46 months ago