architecture career

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

demilieu in Houston, Texas

66 months ago

hi-i'm wondering what the job market is out there for recent grads in architecture-with a typical professional degree, no master's. it's pretty slow in most parts of the country right now, unlike the 1980's recession that spared california and the northeast. there is some activity in medical and schools...both specialized areas. every time there's a recession, architecture and construction take the deepest hits.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

bucho buscando in Spring Valley, California

66 months ago

Yes demilieu, architecture and construction is in a serious low right now. I graduated last year with a Bachelor of Architecture, and have had nothing but negative replies (literally, they simply _don't_ reply to inquiries. What good is a secretary?) or the standard "sorry, we're not hiring right now" (even though some websites state to the contrary. Update people, update. Sorry for my own negativity, but it's hard not to be, especially when I am over $100k in the hole, and I know I am not alone. Check PBS.org for a good special about student loan debts. I wish there was a forum to tell people to stay away from architecture schools right now, at least until the "economy recovers." Save your money, go into engineering or healthcare. Best of luck with your endeavors.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

66 months ago

hi-

well yeah it's a bad situation now for the profession. i already have a license and everything...so, i'm wondering what field a 49 y.o. guy could possibly train into...that wouldn't take a long time in school?