I graduated with an AAS degree. I want to be a teacher's assistant. What am I doing wrong?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (12)

jldouglass@windstream.net in Sanford, North Carolina

73 months ago

I have been trying to get into the school system since I graduated in 1994. (teacher's assistant). I have gotten a few interviews but nothing comes of them. Please give me some advice s to what I am doing wrong.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (11) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

S.S. in Nampa, Idaho

72 months ago

I have been doing the same. I am looking for work in Texas and have an AAS in Paraeducation. Is your degree in education or a related field?

I have found that since I rewrote my resume I am getting a little better response.
Since I worked as a lead teacher in an after school program I listed all the duties in a simple style like this:

2006 – 2007 – After School Classroom Lead Instructor
- Supervision of children K-3 in after school meals and homework completion.
- Large group instruction (20+ students).
- Lesson development including course related worksheets, computer presentations, and activities.
Ect.
Ect.

Break down all of the things you have experience doing and describe them in a professional way and using professional terms.

A résumé that is not simple to read on the first glance will be shoved aside.
I hope this helps. You may want to look for an after school job just to get you in with some of the teachers and staff.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

rel in Romeo, Michigan

72 months ago