Contract attorney; salary? is it worthwhile?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (26)

Hendl in Monterey Park, California

92 months ago

Anyone here experienced with positions as a contract attorney, meaning the attorney gets paid by the hour, no benefits, etc.?
I have just been offered a position, will be taking the CA bar exam in 2 weeks or so, and don't know what a typical salary is. $30/hour? More?
I have just relocated here, and have been practicing for about 20 years.
The job is in an area of law I do want to learn, but still hestitating. . . any advice would help! THanks.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (18) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

esquiregirl in San Diego, California

88 months ago

I know this post was a while ago -- did you ever get an answer? Did you already take the bar? What area of law is it? I was a contract attorney for the first couple of years out of law school and it definitely has its pros and cons. Just make sure if they're paying you as an IC that you truly are an IC, otherwise you're selling yourself short. For instance if they are setting your hours, requiring you to work in their office, etc., then you ARE an employee and they just don't want to pay you benefits. One of the benefits of being an IC is the flexibility. I think $30/hour is way too low for someone with your experience.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

Hendl in Los Angeles, California

87 months ago

THanks so much! I thought $30/hour was too low, as well.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Anon in Washington, District of Columbia

84 months ago