Sole Practitoner -

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (14)

John in Lake City, Florida

81 months ago

I'm a 54 year old engineer with a business degree. I went to law school about 25 years ago, but switched to get my engineering degree instead.

In the years since then, I've come to realize how legal considerations are prominent and often determinative in much of the work I do, and I've thought of going back to get my law degree.

I had pretty good LSAT scores, and I'm sure I could get into a second tier school, but I couldn't really handle working for someone else for very long.

Is it even possible to strike out as a sole practitioner straight out of law school?

What specific skills/specialties would be
conducive to doing so?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Diogenes in Camp Hill, Pennsylvania

81 months ago

I have been an attorney since 1981, working as a public defender, a sole practitioner, and in administrative forums. A year ago, I lost my job, and have been unable to find anything but temporary work. After 27 years of legal experience, I am coding documents for relevance and privilege, when I can get the work.

Do not go back to law school. The cost is prohibitive, the interest rates usurious, and the potential benefit nonexistent.

If you are in the bottom 2/3 of the class, you will not be offered a job, and the only work available will be self-employment. While that can be lucrative, when you are on your own, everything takes so much longer because you have to learn, teach staff, set up forms, and write at the same time you have to be out socializing to raise business. And you can't take the money until the job is done, often 6 months later.

You may have better prospects offering your skills as a consultant, expert witness, or support staff to a law firm that does construction law.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No Reply - Report abuse

John in Lake City, Florida

81 months ago