How do you find childcare positions with benefits with 2 degrees and more than 13 years experience???

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

Love Kids 3 in San Diego, California

46 months ago

I have 2 degrees, an associates in childcare and development and a second associates degree in office administration (including medical office admin). I have more than 13 years of experience in childcare in all age groups from newborn through 16 yrs old. My experience includes being a lead teacher, a traveling substitute, a camp counselor, an assistant center director, and sole creator and implementor of 2 seperate Pre-K programs focused on Kindergarten readiness. I have reference letters from parents, employers, and co-workers.

However, I am finding it hard to find any positions in which I can work with and teach young children while earning enough to keep afloat. I have a special love of working with children whom others find too difficult due to ADD, ADHD, RAD, Autism, etc. I currently have a nice cushy desk job in a medical supply company doin admin. work and I so truly miss my calling of working with children. I miss playin with the kids outside, dancing to silly songs, making messes, using their creativity and enthusiasm to teach w/out them even knowing. I miss hearing "Miss Cindy!!!" all day and comin home with kiddie songs in my head and paint on my clothes and in my hair.

Is there any hope of their being the perfect job for someone who adores working with kids but still needs a decent paycheck and medical benefits??? Do we have to sacrifice our passion for our survival???

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

marisole in Memphis, Tennessee

44 months ago

Good Question. Here are MY suggestions. These are just suggestions.