CRA equals "billable hours" to CRO sweat shops who all use "Efficency Rating Scales"

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 124)
Page:   1  2  3  Next »   Last »

Burned out CRA in Spokane, Washington

79 months ago

After 18 years as a CRA I just got fired again from a CRO. I was a contractor through a placement agency. The reason the CRO stated was that I was not a good fit. The reasons for my firing the CRO provided the placement agency was that I had serious performance issues. Yet not one person had the courage to tell me what those performance issues were because there were none. However the reasons that I actually got fired was for following the intent of the Federal Regulations and Section 5.18 of the GCPs.

The ethical dilemmas facing skilled and very knowledgeable CRAs are horrendous especially for CRO employed monitors. To win contracts from sponsors the CROs will severely underestimate the time it takes for monitoring to show the sponsor a lower contract bid price. CROs use "efficiency rating scales" to monitor your value to them which is in billable hours. Bottom line is the role of a CRA is not about ensuring the welfare of human subjects and ensuring viable research data it has become a production job where quality does not matter.

My suggestion to all you folks who have taken recent training classes are to forget about the regulations, GCPs, and hoopla that you have just learned. Instead focus upon production source verifying, hurrying through your workday and skipping lunch. Forget about having any sleep schedule, eating schedule, or social life. You can expect to routinely have 8 flights each week, 3 rental cars, and 3 hotels.