Getting Started in CRA

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

j.williamson888 in Hayward, California

31 months ago

I have no background in life sciences. I graduated with a BA in Architecture Studies with a Environmental Sciences focus. I am transitioning into a medical career with the CNA, then LVN, then eventually PhD in the long term. Now, I wish to get my feet wet in the medical field while I go to school as a CNA.

A physician friend of mine mentioned three possibilities and would like to know more about all three, but specifically the Clinical Research Associate. The other two are Pharmaceutical Sales, and Drug Safety Assistant.

What I would like to know is, will it be possible to get an entry level position in CRA with no background in it at all?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Mather in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

31 months ago

The clinical research associate (CRA) role is not a role for entry-level candidates to the clinical research field. At minimum, you need at least 2 years of work experience in clinical research and a bachelor of science in the life sciences. A majority of entry-level jobs will also require at least one year of field monitoring experience.

Until you get a BS and entry level experience, it is likely that your resume will go unnoticed for CRA positions. It would be a better fit to try to CTA (clinical trial assistant) and RA (research assistant) jobs. These jobs will help you get the experience while you work on getting the BS.

May I ask why you are going to school to be a CNA? Perhaps this will be able to pay the bills while you get your LVN, but do not consider the CNA to provide you with any thing to build your resume. You may be better off going straight to LVN instead.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

31 months ago