Looking to break into a CRA

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (34)

Sean M in Marlton, New Jersey

79 months ago

Hello,

I'm currently finishing my first year in a PhD program, but am quickly discovering that bench research is not where I want to be for the rest of my life. I'm looking to get into a CRA position in the south/central Jersey or Philadelphia area, but I have zero experience in clinical monitoring. With the exception of the experience, I feel that I would be a very good CRA. I've worked in a cGMP/cGLP environment, and I have a strong analytical background, good communication skills and basically a love of learning; so jumping into a CRA and learning as I go would not be a difficult prospect for me.

I have a BS in biotechnology, and completed one year of a PhD in Molecular Biology from the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey.

Anybody know of a place where I can start?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

SwissHam in Newark, Delaware

79 months ago

You are in a very good place being in the New Jersey and Philly area...There are a ton of big pharma, biotechs and CROs in your area.
With you PhD you may feel over qualified at first, but it will be a good degree to have once you progress up the ladder.
The best place to begin is at the bottom... If your goal is to be a CRA then best place to look is at a CRO... Look for a position like a clinical research assistant.. This role will help introduce you to clinical research... You should be promoted to a CRA between 6 months and a year.

Good luck,
Chris

Sean M in Marlton, New Jersey said: Hello,