What Ca. institution is the best place to start as a Commercial Credit Analyst?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

Oceans11 in Aliso Viejo, California

69 months ago

With 8+ years as a Mortgage underwriter, 6 years as an Auto Finance Credit Buyer & 3 years as a Collections Rep & most recently 1 year as a Group Medical Insurance Underwriter but no college degree which institution is the most open minded about picking up good trainable talent to train as a Commercial Credit Analyst or Underwriter?

Please, with ALL DO RESPECT, don't respond if your only advise is, "Get a degree."

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Jim in Las Vegas, Nevada

68 months ago

I have been a commercial credit analyst for a little while now, and like you, was in the mortgage industry as an underwriter then a processing manager but only four years vs. eight for you. A recruiter/hiring manager is going to look at your resume and see "HS Diploma" and will automatically rule you out as a canidate. It is unfortunate because it is a position you could probably learn and be successful at regardless of having a degree. I'll say this though, residential mortgage underwriting is kids stuff compared to commercial underwriting. A typical file takes a whole day to underwrite, the appraisals are 150-200 pages long, you actually have to understand how to analyze tax returns not just calculate income. It sounds like you are qualified but a degree would certainly help your case.

68 months ago

Jim in Las Vegas, Nevada said:

Hey thanks Jim for your wisdom I appreciate it! It may not be a lost cause though. I underwriter Group Medical Insurance which makes bank underwriter looks like kindergarten stuff. It's very much Actuarial based & I like it a lot! But I'd rather be back in the banking arena to be truthful.