Preparing for an interview, I have no exec. assistant experience

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (36)

Liz in Garden Grove, California

71 months ago

I am a college grad, with experience in both sales and customer service. I recently applied to an executive assistant position, and they want me to come in and interview. I believe they are interviewing me b/c my salary requirements are not as high as an exec assistant w/ experience. Now I'm not sure what to expect, or what to say. Should I just be completely honest and let them know that I don't have exec assist. experience? Does anyone have suggestions on how to spin it positively? What are some typical questions they ask? Also, what are some typical questions I should ask? In other interviews I usually ask about promotion from within and what not, but this being an executive assistant position would I even ask about that? As you can see I could use any possible advice! Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (71) / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

Maxwell in New York, New York

71 months ago

I would highlight any aspect of your experience that can be related to executive assistant duties. For example, if you've ever helped an executive level worker with a project, you can use that as an example of providing executive support. You can also demonstrate how your customer service experience is essential for an executive assistant position because the EA usually has to communicate with a variety of people at different levels of the company, and serve as a "gatekeeper" or liaison between their boss and others.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (15) / No Reply - Report abuse

Kim in Frisco, Texas

71 months ago