Where am I going wrong?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (38)

Guetari in San Francisco, California

78 months ago

I am an administrative professional having a difficult time finding a job after my last employer of 14 years closed down due to an acquisition. With my qualifications I didn't think I would have any problems finding another job. I seem to get plenty of calls and manage to get through 2-3 rounds of interviews with positive feedback, but they end up going nowhere. I've even had to lower my salary expectations and still nothing. This is extremely frustrating since the Administrative Assistants that I used to supervise were able to find jobs immediately at a salary higher than what I was making. Even more frustrating, I still get calls from them asking for my advice on how to handle certain tasks they've been assigned in their new jobs. Don't get me wrong, they deserve every penny they are now making and I'm more than happy to continue to mentor them, but where am I going wrong in finding a job?

I've followed all the advice I can find on "reasons you're not being hired," but still no luck. Anyone have any suggestions or input?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (23) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

Kayna in Saint Louis, Missouri

78 months ago