Career advice

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (9)

Haiduc102 in Deerfield, Illinois

51 months ago

Hi all,

I will start on a bad note: I have been looking more than a year for a Financial Analyst job and NO LUCK!
I have graduated in 12/2008 from University of Illinois Chicago MBA/Finance concentration and my BA was in Economics. Have no experience working whatsoever in finance or accounting.
I have been told that I have strong analytical skills (love math, statistics and calculus in special) and I have some coding experience from school in R Code, C++, SQL, Excell.
I am thinking to go back to continue my education in Finance, looking for a Master in Finance from a tier 1 university.
However, is very expensive and I don't know if it will be worth it.
Any suggestions?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

ninetwosixx in Chicago, Illinois

47 months ago

I finished my bachelor's in Finance from UIC and have had zero luck getting a FA position. I'm assuming the UIC career services is no different between bachelors and MBA huh?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

sean1 in Moorestown, New Jersey

43 months ago

what work experience do you have?

Haiduc102 in Waukegan, Illinois

43 months ago

I have been working for the past 5 years as the Internet Sales manager for a large Audi dealer.
Duties:
-handle internet leads, manage online advertising and increase website traffic
-analyze credit reports, structure financing deals
-prepare weekly and monthly reports

Now, I left this job and I work part time as an IT technician and prepare for the SAS certification exams, since I want to improve my analytical skills.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Sharon in Kissimmee, Florida

43 months ago

Haiduc102 in Waukegan, Illinois said: I have been working for the past 5 years as the Internet Sales manager for a large Audi dealer.
Duties: