Forklift Operator pay & i need a forklift job too

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (36)

Doug in Rosemount, Minnesota

93 months ago

Hi everyone, Im a very old forklift operator. I started out with a pay of 7.25 an hour. That was 20yrs ago, now i make around 20.00. Please dont get mad that your pay is low it may be a very nice paying job. Do to, what state u live in, Type of industrial work, or even if its in wairhouse work "wairhouse dont pay to well" but fun and eazy job. If your looking for a higher paying job.

To improve your pay. Learn: all differnt type of forklifts,Get forklift certified!. Get training in loading-unloading truck "flatbed, boomtrucks, an Trailers". Get some background in shipping an recieving big plus. If u can hang around the people that do invitory work on the computer find what programs ther using and see if they will teach you how it run it and do the work. Tha is where u will get a nice pay incress and promossions at!! After that its just up to the employer to see what your worth to them 8(.

But now im in the same boat as all of u looking for a new job. quite my old one. Im using what i said up top and i have gotten some nice offers around my last pay. So keep your head up. Dont stop trying.

An driving around, look at the cars in the parking lot. If lots of nice clean cars an trucks. Then there pay is high. Old or lots of rundown one's may not be a good place to look at but allways poke your noise in there might hit the big one of pay.

Sineraly doug,
P.S hopw we all get the dream jobs we what. May god and nice company help us out.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (38) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

David Marr

93 months ago

Hi my name is David Marr i now how to drive a the sit down forklift but not the stand up forklift.My old job that i was working at post to teach me how to drive the stand up forklift. I am not certified for the forklift but i would like to be certified for the forklift.