HRInterntoHRAssistantQuestion

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Lanette Polak in Chicago, Illinois

37 months ago

I am a HR Intern for a corporation. When I obtain two years experience as this position will I easily find work as a HR Assistant? Most HR Assistant jobs ask for two years of experience. I also am hoping to become a HR Generalist or HR Manager. I am just starting to obtain HR experience.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Tia in La Mirada, California

9 months ago

In CA it is hard to get a position without a BA & 5-7 years experience. Even if it is night school, GET THE DEGREE! Having 5 yrs experience as HR generalist (tons of seminars & training courses), 2 yrs in payroll, 3 yrs in benefits, 3 yrs Retail Store Manager, 4yrs Operations manager, 4 yrs project coordinator...plus, plus, plus. FInding work has been "challenging". Reasons given: I only speak English and I don't have a degree! Several companies offered me $12 per hour "because of my lack of experience and degree".
Wish I had invested the time & money! But being a working mom doesn't leave a lot of extra time :(

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

carolvmcpherson@gmail.com

1 month ago

Yes provided you met the requirements to move forward by completing your job assignments.. Also many times depending on the company you are assigned to you may be offered a popsition other then human resources if your career objectives are not HR but somewhere else in tHe organization such as finance. Many times if you expect to be the executive or a member of senior management you must have a basic understanding of the principals which apply to HR. Good luck.

carolvmcpherson@gmail.com

1 month ago