Don't think I can work as a CNA/HHA one more day...help

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Anonymous in Wayne, Pennsylvania

23 months ago

I am a nursing student (BSN) with 2 years to go. Have worked on/off as CNA/HHA for over 10 years. Sorry to admit this, but I am finally "burned out". I am sick of the abuse from agencies, the clients, and their families. I am sick of the slave wages, no benefits, and lack of respect. I am sick of not being treated as a professional, but more like a maid/housekeeper. I am sick of being lied to about assignments, and being sent to homes that should be condemned by the board of health, where families should be reported for no food, heat, AC in the hot summers, abuses and neglect. I am tired of dealing with elderly patients with advanced Alzheimer's that are up night and day, incontinent every hour, raging and throwing things at me. I have had some good experiences with elder care, but sadly I have come to the conclusion that it it NOT what I enjoy.

I am sorry this sounds harsh--and I just had a very bad night again, been up for 30 hours straight with a dementia patient that wanders her home all night and pees all over the carpets. I realize there are many other aspects of patient care in nursing and God, I hope to find one soon.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No Reply - Report abuse

Anonymous in Wayne, Pennsylvania

23 months ago