Where does 15 years of experiance get you?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Tammy in Edwardsville, Illinois

93 months ago

I have been working in the houskeeping field for 15 years. I started out as a normal janitor then was promted to supervisor then manager. I now find myself without work because of company layoff. Now I get told I am either over qualified for doing regular housekeeping work or I am under qualified because I dont have a college degree. What is a person suppose to do anymore. Im not working so I cant afford to go to college but I cant get a job because I am over or under qualified. Can some one please tell me what people like me are suppose to do?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (11) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Sandra

85 months ago

Tammy in Edwardsville, Illinois said: I have been working in the houskeeping field for 15 years. I started out as a normal janitor then was promted to supervisor then manager. I now find myself without work because of company layoff. Now I get told I am either over qualified for doing regular housekeeping work or I am under qualified because I dont have a college degree. What is a person suppose to do anymore. Im not working so I cant afford to go to college but I cant get a job because I am over or under qualified. Can some one please tell me what people like me are suppose to do?

I hear you! My exetutive housekeeping manager recenty went on an interview and was told the exact same thing...it was true. Since she didn't really need a job she walked away and chalked it up as networking.
Unfortunately you may have to realize that you are going to have to accept a position with less pay in order to get your foot in the door and negotiate.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Zeeshawn in Frisco, Texas

25 months ago