Who's having a problem finding LPN work as a recent grad with no experience?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

All Potential in Sterling Heights, Michigan

26 months ago

Ok, I thought that becoming a nurse (whether it be an RN or LPN) would generate enthusiasm from prospective employers, even if the candidate doesn't have experience. I'm a recent grad who just passed the NCLEX, and can't find a job to save my life. Every job ad says the same thing: 1 year of experience required. I thought that beggars can't be choosers. I guess that the medical community isn't as desperate as they're made out to be. Who would've thought that becoming a nurse would result in slammed doors everywhere. Comments anyone?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (25) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Angela in Fayetteville, Georgia

26 months ago

Ive been an LPN for 8 years and the same thing happened to me when I first started until someone told me to go to an agency. Most employers dont advertise and have agencies find people for them. Alot of them dont mind new grads because they can pay them less. Also you may have to start at a nursing home. They say that they want one year experience but when they start getting short on staff and need help desperately or a body just to fill the spot they will hire anybody including new grads. I know it sounds bad but thats just the way it is. I hope that is helpfull. Im trying to get out of nursing myself and do medical coding. The work is to stressfull and physically demanding. Good Luck.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No Reply - Report abuse

All Potential in Rochester, Michigan

26 months ago