Other Opportunities for Loan Processors

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

old processor in Huntington Beach, California

57 months ago

Ryan in Eagle Pass, Texas said: Hello,

I am currently an Analyst (creating reports, working condo submissions, and a number of other tasks) for my mortgage company. Recently an opportunity has come up where I will be learning to become a loan processor.
As someone new to the mortgage industry I'm open to anything at this point, and I'm fairly excited about this promotion.

My question has to do with other opportunities for expierenced mortgage loan processor's outside of the mortgage environment. Say after a few years I decide I'm interested in trying something else. What other directions could an experience loan processor go if they were looking to get into something other than mortgage?

I felt like I would have more opportunities working as an Analyst, in that it might be easier to switch fields to say finance, retail banking, or any other type of anaylitical positions.
With processing it seems like everything I have found shows it as being a fairly specific skill set that may not apply in any other fields.

Anyone with a similar experience as this? Or does anyone have any other thoughts or opinions on this and the mortgage industry in general?

Thanks

Ryan

I have been a Mortgage Loan Processor for 27 years. I was considered the "Go To" person
at my former empoloyer for all questions regarding FHA, VA and Conventional. From Underwriting guidelines to how to handle an angry Real Estate Agent, they came to me, and that included the President of the company.

When my employer of 20 years finally gave up and closed I found a new job with a start up
company that closed in 6 months. I have been unemployed since October and I cannot even
get a call back on my resume. I wish I knew how to transfer these skills because I'm