Any RMTs in Canada (particularly BC)? Please advise!

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

ubcpuddles in Vancouver, British Columbia

22 months ago

Hey everyone,

For those massage therapists out there, I was hoping to get some feedback about the job/schooling. Apologies in advance for this lengthy message, but I'm desperately needing guidance!
Here's a quick rundown: I'm currently a UBC student (been here way too long, have an impractical BA) and am looking to head in a different direction. I'm pretty set on getting into the health care field, so I've been looking into the typical Masters programs: OT, PT, and SLP. I'm working on pre-reqs for all 3, have picked up a volunteer gig where I work with physically disabled/speech-impaired individuals, and have thoroughly researched all 3 fields. But the more I work towards applying to any of these programs, the more I'm realizing that I don't particularly care to pursue them!

I've been strangely drawn to massage for some time now. I love anatomy, and the whole philosophy underlying massage really resonates with me. I know it's physically demanding, but ultimately I would love to have a lot of flexibility and the potential to open up my own clinic. The main thing I'm hesitant about is leaving university to go to college in order to pursue something I feel is not entirely stable. This has gotten lengthy, so I'll post my Qs in the next message...

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

ubcpuddles in Vancouver, British Columbia

22 months ago

1. Have any RMTs here thought of pursuing OT/PT? Any particular reasons why you chose massage instead? Any regrets?

2. Is BC over-saturated with massage therapists? Or is this still a growing field? Are jobs hard to come by?