Internationally Massage Qualifications

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 247)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Cora2 in Brisbane, Australia

75 months ago

Hello,

I've been doing massage for 3 years now - I'm from Australia... Is there anyone here that can tell me what I need to be able to practice massage Legally in another Country. For example, Canada, USA or the UK...

I just don't want to waste my time with more study, then travel and not be employable for it. I can legally live and work in the UK, so if it's better for my career, I can do more training there...

Some advice would be very much appreciated!

Thanks,
Cora

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (42) / No (8) Reply - Report abuse

Cora2 in Brisbane, Australia

75 months ago

SORRY, please ignore my 'very bad' grammar for the heading... Bad typo!! lol

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Avvi in Branson, Missouri

74 months ago

Hi Cora!
I am a licensed massage therapist in the USA who learned massage at a school (Canterbury College of Natural Medicine) in New Zealand. The US has a national certification test that all therapists must pass to then be allowed to obtain a state license in the state they wish to practice massage. To qualify for the national exam you must meet the criteria they have agreed upon for education. If the school you went to is not in their list of qualified schools (mine was not) you must complete an extra process called an education review. I won't lie that it was quite a process to go through to get completely legal, but if you really want to work it, it can be managed. I can't remember the site off the top of my head but if you search US national massage certification it should get you right to the official government page. It should be fairly easy to follow once you get there!!
Hope this is helpful!
Cheers!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (16) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse