What are typical meat cutter salaries?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (36)

Host

Do some companies pay a lot more for this position than others? What does a top earner make in this field?

What skills should you learn to increase your salary?

Reply - Report abuse

scott in Boston, Massachusetts

73 months ago

?

I was a meatcutter/manager almost 30 years. Most chains pay 18-20 an hour. Wholefoods pays the most 18-22 cutter
and 19-30 for manager plus bennies. All and all it is a dying occupation, don,t waste your life.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (47) / No (14) Reply - Report abuse

Larry C in Cleveland, Tennessee

72 months ago

melissa Mc Dannold in Westminster, California said: have you found a job yet i'm looking for a meat manager position. I'm now a meat manager at Albertsons in CA .I'm looing in TN

I am in TN. I have over 9 yrs experience. Are you still looking?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (10) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

Jeff in Victor, Idaho

65 months ago

In this area of Idaho journeyman meat cutters earn $16.00 +/-. In parts of Utah $18.00 to $21.00. The Utah figures are earnings before the current economy.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Gary Noble in Livermore, California

65 months ago

scott in Boston, Massachusetts said: ?

I was a meatcutter/manager almost 30 years. Most chains pay 18-20 an hour. Wholefoods pays the most 18-22 cutter
and 19-30 for manager plus bennies. All and all it is a dying occupation, don,t waste your life.

yep I agree it is a dying breed. No one knows how to breakdown anything any more so you really don't need any skills. except to cut a steak chop or roast.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Dave Touron in Ogdensburg, New York

64 months ago