What are typical mechanical designer salaries?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Host

Do some companies pay a lot more for this position than others? What does a top earner make in this field?

What skills should you learn to increase your salary?

Reply - Report abuse

martinrots@msn.com in Fair Oaks, California

82 months ago

Yes, some companies do pay more than others. In the summer of 1981 when Detroit was flooded with work, I could make $50/hr no problem for contract work. That was on top of a 56 hour work week. In 1999 in Detroit, the average unburdened wage for an experienced designer was between $25/$35 an hour.

The problem is, all those jobs are gone and they're not coming back. I, like a lot of people I know, have relocated. We recently arrived in Sacramento and I've just started looking. I have thirty years experience as a designer.

The work in Detroit disappeared for a variety of reasons: declining market share, soft tooling and offshoring. 300,000 jobs lost in SE MI in the last five years. That's the trickle down economy for you.

I'm ten years from retirement, I don't know if I'd recommend a young person to even enter the field.

A lot of guys in Detroit, for their last job, were training Eastern europeans and Indians in UG, Catia and tool design. In India, they're working for $100/wk and living in dormatories. How you gonna compete with that.

My only regret is I wish I were closer to retirement.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No Reply - Report abuse

kit kat in Houston, Texas

69 months ago