Does Volunteering Help You Land A Medical Assistant Job?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (9)

Learning Something New Everyday in California

58 months ago

I took medical assisting training a few years ago and I have wanted to get into the field since I graduated but no one hires new grads. Now that I am about to be totally without income after this month, I wanted to know if I should volunteer at some doctor's office to gain experience? Also where else can I volunteer at that will count towards medical assisting? Also if I become a CNA will that count towards my experience as well?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (88) / No (11) Reply - Report abuse

smithmau in Woodbridge, Virginia

57 months ago

I am 52 years old and recently graduated with a Medical Assistant Degree but not yet have taken my RMA (don't know if I want to now) and have been trying to find a job for a month. My husband & I are trying to dig out of credit card debt which has already hurt our credit and will for the next 10 years. I too am trying to find a job in the Northern Virginia area (Woodbridge, Manassas, Reston, Fairfax) but no one wants to hire recent grads. How are you supposed to get your experience if an employer doesn't give you a chance? These previous MA's had to get their experience too and they started somewhere because someone gave them a chance. IT'S NOT FAIR! I almost feel I threw away over $23,000. Now I may be forced to go more into education debt by going to another University and taking a Hemodialysis Technician course to get me a degree and go into another field. Any advice on jobs and how to go about finding in these areas of Northern Virginia would be helpful.

Signed: NEED A JOB NOW!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (16) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

tinalanq01 in Dearborn, Michigan

45 months ago