CMA or RN

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (46)

Michelle in Crestwood, Kentucky

67 months ago

I have been reading this forum for a few weeks now and I am worried that I am making the wrong choice. I am starting my A.A.S in Medical Assisting this spring but with all the new graduates and the lack of jobs I am worried that this is a bad investment. I worry that the pay is not what I thought it would be and that there is a lack of respect for this profession. I have been thinking that I should just go ahead and get my nursing degree but I worry about the competition on getting in the school, trying to work while I am going, the stress, the death of a patient, and the hours. I work in retail now and I hate that I have to work every holiday and can't spend time with my family. These were the reasons I chose medical assistanting instead but if the job market is bad and the money and respect aren't there then I am rethinking my decision. I don't want to spend all the money on student loans and either not get a job or get low wages when I can do that without an education. Any advice??

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (20) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Learning Something New Everyday in Stockton, California

67 months ago