CCS P cert

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (15)

Dana in Cary, Illinois

47 months ago

I finished with AHIMA basic coding course. I have a BS degree in Medicine. Finding it hard to find jobs. Planning to take CCS P certification. How difficult is the exam? What books are recommended other than the PRG for CCS P? I am not having any luck finding jobs in medical records also. What to do?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

dana in Barrington, Illinois

46 months ago

pl reply

valentine2 in Park City, Utah

46 months ago

dana in Barrington, Illinois said: pl reply

when you say you have a degree in medicine, what do you mean by that?

Recommended study material should be listed on AHIMAs website under that particular certification.

As far as finding jobs, most new grads are struggling to break into this field, looking for something else in HIM (like you are doing) is generally the best advice.

Do you hold any other certifications? If not, that may be the problem, it is very hard to compete in this field without being credentialed.

dana in Lake Zurich, Illinois

46 months ago

I have graduated from medical school. So I have a solid medical background. I am working on my first certification i.e CCS P coz I heard CCA is pretty much useless. How long will it take to be prepare for the exam/ I just finishes the AHIMA basic coding course online...looking for a job.

valentine2 in Salt Lake City, Utah

46 months ago

dana in Lake Zurich, Illinois said: I have graduated from medical school. So I have a solid medical background. I am working on my first certification i.e CCS P coz I heard CCA is pretty much useless. How long will it take to be prepare for the exam/ I just finishes the AHIMA basic coding course online...looking for a job.