Took the CCS P exam today and failed by just 1 point!!!!

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (10)

dana in Barrington, Illinois

40 months ago

I am so upset and disappointed. I have no work experience. This is my first try. Should I reatke this exam or take CCA?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

dana in Cary, Illinois

40 months ago

Anyone?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

valentine in Park City, Utah

40 months ago

dana in Barrington, Illinois said: I am so upset and disappointed. I have no work experience. This is my first try. Should I reatke this exam or take CCA?

Its hard to advise someone which certification they should take. There are different factors involved and ultimately its up to you to decide where you want your coding career to go.

If you are wanting to take the CCA because you think its easier than the CCS-P, then you would be wrong. While it tests different information, it is still a difficult exam.

The CCS-P is an outpatient credential. While you can do other things with it, you will mostly work in an outpatient setting.

While the CCA is an inpatient credential, where it is more focused on acute care/facility coding.

You could always do a job search and see which credential the employers in your area prefer.

dana in Cary, Illinois

40 months ago

Most of them require RHIT RHIA or CCS. Thats why I attempted CCS P ( bec of no work experience instead of CCS ) Although CCA is an entry level credential I dont see any job postings requiring CCA credential.

valentine in Park City, Utah

40 months ago

dana in Cary, Illinois said: Most of them require RHIT RHIA or CCS. Thats why I attempted CCS P ( bec of no work experience instead of CCS ) Although CCA is an entry level credential I dont see any job postings requiring CCA credential.