RN wanting a lab assistant position

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 196)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Michelle in Durham, North Carolina

91 months ago

I am currently a RN. I have 2 yrs lab assistant experiences before I became a nurse. I have applied for a lab assistant jobs at labcorp and a local hospital. I got one call back with labcorp's human resource dept. A telephone interview was done. I told her that I understand it will be a huge pay cut. But, I really like working in the lab and I can get a part-time RN job to work around my lab assistant schedule. She said she would forward my application to a hiring manager.
It been two weeks and I have not gotten a second call back from labcorp.

My questions are: Is the fact that I am a RN hurt my chances being hired as a lab assistant?
And after I have earned a BS in clinical laboratory science(I plan on going back to college soon) will being a RN hurt my chances getting a MT job?

Responses are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Michelle

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Kathy in Chesapeake, Virginia

90 months ago

I sincerely doubt that you'd have any problem getting a job as a med tech, regardless of whether or not you have been a nurse. I work in a hospital laboratory and we almost always have openings. When you go through the med tech program, you will do clinical rotations in hospitals. Almost every student who has done clinical rotations in my hospital gets a job there (including me). As long as you have a decent work ethic, you will be fine.

You being a RN may hurt your chances of being a lab assistant mainly because they might consider you 'overqualified'.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (9) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Michelle in Durham, North Carolina

90 months ago

Kathy,

Thank you so much for your response.

I can not wait to start working on earning a degree in medical technology.

-Novice