Anyone Hiring New Grads?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (12)

Nurse Adam in Dallas, Texas

58 months ago

Hi everyone, I stumbled onto this blog by accident, but I'm glad I found it. I'm a new LVN grad & just passed my state boards the last week of Dec. I didn't have time to be put on a 2yr waiting list for an RN program from a traditional College, so I attended a private nursing school called DNI (Dallas Nursing Institute which I heard just got bought out by ATI and just started their RN/ADN program). I thought LVN school would be a breeze since I already have a BS degree, but boy was I wrong! DNI had a tough curriculum (only 9 out of the 62 made it), so they did a great job preparing me. I def have an appreciation for LVN's and what they have to go through. As far as the Dallas job market (which includes Collin County)it seems to be over saturated with LVN's, most of the clinics & nursing homes are fully staffed- I've been searching & interviewing for the last month and 1/2 and I can tell you, it's not as easy as I thought, there alot of PRN jobs out there- but 1x/wk doesn't cut it when you have bills. I graduated the top 4 in my class, but there are folks who barely passed or who had to take their Exit Exams 2x that have already gotten FT jobs since they live close to Arlington or on the Ft.Worth side, but it's a different climate on the Dallas side. Here's my experience: alot of the hospitals I did clinicals in 2009 have changed their policy and no longer hire LVN's for their 2010 policy. Even the LTAC in Plano that I use to work for before nursing school no longer bring LVN's on board according to their HR and I was counting on them to hire me right out of school, ironic they're the ones who said we need more people like you & encouraged me to go to school. Some of the existing LVN nurses I talked to at Plano Specialty said they're getting a deadline to complete their RN, and now most of the major hospitals are press