ADN versus BDN

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (14)

Pony in El Paso, Texas

28 months ago

I would love to be a nurse and can see myself going to school for four years. However I just don't see myself doing a four year program.

Do BDNs really get hired more than ADNs? Do I have a chance in this down job market?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Pony in El Paso, Texas

28 months ago

Ooops, I meant to say I can see myself going for TWO years.... not four.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

SusanSuzanna in Fremont, California

28 months ago

I know where you’re coming from; I didn’t have 4 years to sit around in a class either so I enrolled in the online RN to BSN from Unitek College.

The program was 18 months compared to 4 years. After I graduated and moved up in my job, I’m the one that makes the hiring decisions where I work and I’d rather hire someone with a BSN than an ADN.

Not that there is anything wrong with other routes, and I really think it comes down to the position and setting you are referring to, but quite simply put those with the BSN have reached a higher level of nursing, have more experience, more schooling, a better and more advanced understanding, are prepared for advanced roles, and are in my opinion just better prepared all around.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Kerry1981 in Dallas, Texas

23 months ago

You still have an excellent chance to become a working RN with a associates degree in nursing. www.nursing-classes.info/nursing-programs/associate-degree-in-nursing/

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Jennifer_Z in Boothbay, Maine

23 months ago