nursing assistant being used and abused

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (34)

Jettsie in Silver Spring, Maryland

74 months ago

nursing assistants are the slaves that make many people become rich. They are used, and are paid next to nothing. They are paid as if they can't read and write. Might as well they get a good trade and become self employed. It's a shame!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (76) / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

Brenda in Saint Petersburg, Florida

62 months ago

I agree with you all that you are under paid and over worked. But we all are regardless of our title. I am a administrator for a nursing home in Saint Petersburg, FL and I see that several of my staff members are over worked and there is nothing that I can do about it.

I have to disagree with you about your DON and higher management sitting on their ass and expect the CNAs to do everything. If you don't think that your DON does anything but sit all day and do nothing, ask her/him if you can shadow her/him for one day. You will see that they are non stop just like you; it is just different stuff that they are required to do on a daily basis.

My DON must complete reports, audits, assist the nurses, educate staff, do facility rounds with me, deal with families, physicians, residents, staff and upper management. DONs do not have an easy job, they work just as hard as CNAs. I can say this because before becoming an administrator I was a CNA for 16 years.

The key to solving problems is communication, get together and create a committee where you can come up with ideas and solutions to your problems. Stop stirring the pot and do something about it.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (24) / No (49) Reply - Report abuse

CNA certification = worthless in Saint Charles, Minnesota

58 months ago