MT become PA

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (16)

asjohnsonMT in Watertown, South Dakota

66 months ago

Does anyone have suggestions about a Med Tech becoming a PA?

I passed my ASCP, and like being a Med Tech - I would like to pursue more options. I don't think a masters in heme or blood banking/immunoheme would excite me so much, but Path A sounds interesting.

How do I know if I have the "credentials" to do this?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

CADILLAC in Detroit, Michigan

66 months ago

I am a Med Tech and was admitted to Wayne State's program for the fall. I rotated through hematology, lood bank and chemistry. It was an overall good experience. Being a Med Tech gives you a leg up on other applicants because of your lab background. Sevety four people applied this year for the Pa program, but, only ten were selected.

Based on the interview questions they asked me you should have a solid background in the lab. Processing specimens is the majority of a APA's work. To me being a med tech is boring, but there is a lot of excitement in being an APA.

Best WIshes

rawsean in Chicago, Illinois

66 months ago

I was an under paid PA for eleven years.The field is interesting and always full of work.This time in my life I'm going back to school to get a degree in this field so I can move around from state to state.

Daniel in League City, Texas

60 months ago

Hi,

I'm a Senior CLS student graduating in August 2010. I also have a previous BS degree in Microbiology. I haven't worked as a certified CLS but I have >5 years experience working in academic research. I also plan on sitting for the ASCP and working as a CLS, but I know in my heart I'll still want to get an advanced degree, a Master's at the very least.