Sales as a personal banker.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (40)

Donna Hooker in Fort Worth, Texas

69 months ago

I routinely sell more than $1 million worth of credit union products monthly. Would any other personal bankers out there like to learn how I do it?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (59) / No (16) Reply - Report abuse

Jenny in Bronx, New York

69 months ago

i am a recent college grad and im lookng to find a pb job...can u give me some tips and i would definately love to know how you do it

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Donna Hooker in Dallas, Texas

69 months ago

Hi, Jenny,

Thank you for your response. I, perhaps, made it sound as though there's a secret or a trick to selling $1 million worth of products per month over night. I apologize for misleading you and any other people who read this if I've done that.

Selling a million per month won't happen over night. I've been in banking and credit union work for thirty years, so experience is necessary. It's a combination of several things that, when combined, lead to a fulfilling sales career.

I will say that outstanding customer service, the kind that makes customers want only you as their personal banker, is the key to making repeat sales that put you over the million per month mark. I find it exciting, yet humbling, when clients are willing to sit in the lobby for two hours waiting for me to help them, while I'm working with another client.

That takes a tremendous amount of work...and patience, and in all of my years in the business, I've not known any other PBs who are willing to do the extra work to build a clientele who follows you from branch to branch if and when you change locations.

I'm considering writing an ebook on the subject and am wanting to find out if there's enough interest in this narrow niche to make writing the book worthwhile.