Teacher transitioning to Pharma Sales

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

MandaM in Coram, New York

35 months ago

I have been a teacher for 10+ years and I am looking to make a career change to pharma sales. I have NO sales experience other than working in retail as a teenager. Do I have a shot at breaking into this competitive feild? If so, how can I overcome my lack of sales experience?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (25) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

MandaM in Coram, New York

34 months ago

Thanks! I sent you an email :)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Jae S. in Gilroy, California

34 months ago

I am a former teacher as well. I am finding that it is some what difficult to get into the industry, do you have any recommendations?

West Gordan in Albany, Georgia said: Yes, of course have a chance to break into this field. The first reason is b/c the two fields are closely related. Within the teaching profession one has to sell conceptual ideas and theories on a daily basis. the Pharma sales market is the same. It is not like a car salesman selling tangible goods, a Pharma rep is selling doctors on the pros on a particular medicine.

Moreover, my best friend recently made the transition from the classroom to a Pharma Rep. So, it can be done successfully.

If you have any other questions or concerns email me at westgordan@gmail.com

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Jae S. in Gilroy, California

34 months ago

I am also a former teacher. I am finding that it is a bit difficult to get into the industry. do you have any recommendations?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

West in Albany, Georgia

34 months ago

Jae S. in Gilroy, California said: I am also a former teacher. I am finding that it is a bit difficult to get into the industry. do you have any recommendations?