What do you enjoy most about your purchasing agent career?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Host

What do you enjoy most about being a purchasing agent? What do you dislike the most? Is it challenging? Are there many opportunities to learn and advance?

What keeps you at your job?

Reply - Report abuse

SGL in Lynnwood, Washington

86 months ago

Note, I work in the construction field.

What I enjoy the most: The challenge of social engineering, the hunt for the best prices and best products.

Dislike the most: When finances do not exist for large bulk purchases. It truly does take dough to make bread. When suppliers attempt to sway me with bribes.

Opportunity: There is much to learn, and advancement for me is based upon how well I do my job. I make it my goal to show my employer I have saved them at least my entire years wages within a few months. This creates the opportunity to receive bonuses.

Growth: Growth depends upon the company and the purchasing staff. I am the entire department, therefore I will grow with the company, and new hires in my department will be under my direction.

What keeps me at my job: Money, I work to eat, not because it is fun. Other reasons include the mental challenge, learning, and the lack of physical labor which has caused me injury in the past.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (9) / No Reply - Report abuse

Irene Molina in San Salvador, El Salvador

79 months ago

Host said: What do you enjoy most about being a purchasing agent? What I enjoy the most in interact with people,. In my case this is important because I studied English at the university, and in this way I put into practice and improve english. Related we the job properly I enjoyed the most tracking the orders.