MSW programs in NY area

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 308)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Alison in Selden, New York

81 months ago

If you are not interested in a policy oriented program you might want to avoid Stony Brook. I am a recent Stony Brook graduate. Professors say every program has the same amount of everything but the emphasis at Stony Brook's School of SOCIAL WELFARE (not School of SOCIAL WORK) is social justice. I felt my clinical education was lacking and had to learn a lot in my internships.

For a really clinical program, I hear Adelphi is a better choice. Co-workers who have graduated from there seem to know a lot more clinically. Adelphi offers a part time program but the requirements to get in are harder. I don't now about competition or stress levels or about returning student friendly.

You will like a lot of the Stony Brook professors and find them helpful. Adelphi has a satellite program in Happauge but Stony Brook is still closer to you.

Stony Brook's program is also the cheapest around by at least 50% and I didn't find the program competitive. From my experience many of the students worked together to support each other and help each other through the program.

I hope this helps.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (14) / No Reply - Report abuse

Allison in Manorville, New York

81 months ago

Alison in Selden, New York said: If you are not interested in a policy oriented program you might want to avoid Stony Brook. I am a recent Stony Brook graduate. Professors say every program has the same amount of everything but the emphasis at Stony Brook's School of SOCIAL WELFARE (not School of SOCIAL WORK) is social justice. I felt my clinical education was lacking and had to learn a lot in my internships.