Trying to find a job - West Michigan

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (22)

Nikki in Grand Rapids, Michigan

89 months ago

I graduated with a bachelors in Social Work in 2003 from an accredited university. I applied for TONS of jobs but never got a call back at all. Eventually I started looking for office work and landed a decent paying job. Only problem is that I'm BORED OUT OF MY MIND. I want to work in social work field. I want a job that I feel serves a purpose, rather than just pushing papers for some factory. I've sent out a few resumes to social work jobs, but have yet to get any replies. I'm assuming it's mostly because the only experience I have is in my internships while in school. How can I get experience if no one will give me a chance? The frustration keeps growing as I get more and more bored in my current job. I'm only 27 years old and need to find a position that I can look forward to getting out of bed in the morning. Any suggestions or leads would be awesome. Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Nikki

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (8) / No Reply - Report abuse

sandinmytoes in Los Angeles, California

89 months ago

Try your local CPS department. They usually hire entry level workers at a low salary. Also, group homes is another avenue you might want to try just to get a foot in the door.

You could also offer to intern for CPS and get the needed experience (6 mos.) until you qualify for the job.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Nikki in Grand Rapids, Michigan

89 months ago

sandinmytoes in Los Angeles, California said: Try your local CPS department. They usually hire entry level workers at a low salary. Also, group homes is another avenue you might want to try just to get a foot in the door.

You could also offer to intern for CPS and get the needed experience (6 mos.) until you qualify for the job.