What are the best software engineer qualifications and training to get ahead?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (14)

Host

What is the best training for becoming a software engineer? What types of ongoing training or certifications are necessary to be an effective software engineer?

What do non-traditional career paths look like?

Reply - Report abuse

Adam in Painesville, Ohio

73 months ago

That's ridiculous rob. i was a journalist for five years before going back to school for computer science/software engineering. i had no experience programming or anything. you can learn it if you truly put your mind and energy into it. sure, you might have to work a lot harder than someone else who picks up on it right away, but that's the same with every subject/skill. don't let elitists like rob discourage you. there's a lot of techies out there like him.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (69) / No (39) Reply - Report abuse

jackie in Rajkot, India

70 months ago

Host said: What is the best training for becoming a software engineer? What types of ongoing training or certifications are necessary to be an effective software engineer?

What do non-traditional career paths look like?

can u say me in detai that how we can become an software engineer?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (19) / No (23) Reply - Report abuse

Saud Karim in Marietta, Georgia

70 months ago

I reallly want to become a software engineer, but don't really know if it is hard or easy for me. So if anybody could help me, I would be thankful.
Email me at worthmillions_7@hotmail.com

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (35) / No (30) Reply - Report abuse

Tim in Sunnyside, New York

54 months ago