M.D. interested in working on medical software start-ups - HELP!

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

w2nzra in Winston Salem, North Carolina

66 months ago

Hello everyone. I'm a medical student on leave between my 3rd and 4th years to earn an MS in computer science. My goal is to eventually work as a software engineer in CTO/co-founder type positions in medical software companies. I am not planning on pursuing residency, but rather planning on going straight to work in the software industry as soon as I've finished the MS and MD programs. Here are some questions I'm having a hard time finding answers to:

- Am I crippled or at least at a major disadvantage pursuing graduate studies in CS instead of software engineering? My university doesn't offer degrees in software engineering.

- If I am at a disadvantage, can I expect to learn software engineering on the job? What type of job would best prepare me for this?

- How would you suggest best using my M.D.? Not many people holding M.D.s go into software engineering, and although this means there isn't much precedence available for consultation, my hope is that it will lend me an advantage.

- My undergraduate degree is in biology and mathematics, not CS. My switch to the study of technology is relatively recent, within the last two years. How unattractive will this make me look to an employer? How can I best overcome this shortcoming?

- I have a prodigious amount of med school debt. How can I maximize my earning potential as I'm getting me feet on the ground as soon as I'm out of school? What are some likely salary ranges for someone in my position?