Interview Preparation

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

Host

Do you have any tips to help prepare for an upcoming special education teacher interview?

Are there common interview questions that come up again and again?

Reply - Report abuse

Rita in Longview, Washington

76 months ago

Any tips on interviewing for a special eduation position after teaching special education for 30 years. I am sure questions have changed in 30 years.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (190) / No (27) Reply - Report abuse

Rita in Kelso, Washington

75 months ago

I have been teaching special education for 30 years and just interviewed for a new district. Some of the questions were:
Lots about reading
How would you incorporate technology in your classroom?
What would we see happening on the first couple days of school in your classroom?
If they ask what your classroom would look like you should answer:
You would see students smiling,sharing, happily and actively engaged individually, with partners, small groups or whole class. You will see both auditory and visually modeling going on, and some open ended questions so you get students learning to share verbally and getting thoughts out without having to write them down at the same time. You will see me at the door greeting each student as they enter the classroom so as to make them individually feel important, cared for and want to come back to the classroom each day. This will insure students happy as they enter and happy as they leave the classroom each day.
Another question is they will ask how you will interact with gen.ed teachers so as to ease them about having special education students in their classrooms.