future of special education

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (15)

leavingteaching in Chicago, Illinois

52 months ago

I have been a special ed teacher for over 10 years and although don't regret my experience, I would not recommend teaching to someone coming out of school right now. It's gotten extremely difficult for both regular and special ed teachers. Parents are so demanding (or they just don't care), there's no money for anything (and I work in a wealthy district), and as the other poster said, many Reg. Ed teachers are very difficult to work with regarding special ed students, and then you are caught in the middle, with parents asking you why the teacher isn't following the accommodations as written in the IEP. I am going back to school next year full time to become an OT, and although I don't expect healthcare to be any less frustrating than public school teaching, at least I know I have many options for where to work, with what population, etc. And I won't have to stay in a job I can't stand anymore. Right now I'm stuck in one school system because if I wanted to find a new job in a new district, I'd lose pay, lose tenure, and they could just lay me off after my first year.
I guess if it's something you really think you want to do, then you should talk to as many special ed teachers as you can. It's certainly a great schedule if you have kids. But for me, I just knew I needed to do something different. Good luck!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (17) / No (8) Reply - Report abuse

leavingteaching in Chicago, Illinois

52 months ago