Starting Out In NYC

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Tom in Elizabeth, New Jersey

44 months ago

Ok here's the deal. I'm currently unemployed and have made the decision to try to break into the NYC restaurant scene. I fear I face an uphill battle here for a few reasons. First and foremost, I have no experience in restaurants whatsoever. Upon viewing ads on Craigslist for example, I've noticed a real trend of these Manhattan restaurants requiring 2 years or more of not only FOH experience, but NYC experience at that. Now what I don't understand is how someone is expected to break into this business in New York City. It's well-known that waiting tables is a job with a definite shelf-life, so with such a revolving door, and in an industry that allegedly has one of the highest turnover rates anyway, why does it seem so hard at a glance to break in? Granted, I haven't yet made the push to do this in any formal way; I've only been perusing ads, but I've come across a fair share of these with an outright tone to the effect of "don't bother without 2 yrs NYC exp."

I am absolutely determined to do this, and while I'm not going to allow this to discourage me, I feel this whole thing should be approached with having had done some research so I can optimize my job search and minimize the potential for rejection and wasted time on open calls.

I'd like to hear from any NYC waitstaff on this subject, especially if you've broken into this industry since the economy tanked. I'd also like to hear from men, as I've noticed a bit of gender-bias in the industry with ads specifically asking for waitresses, or subtly doing so by asking for headshots.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Jj in Houston, Texas

43 months ago