Hourly pay question

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 169)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Waitressing Newbie in Bluffton, South Carolina

83 months ago

Hi there.

I'm new to waitressing ... I've only been at it for about a month so far.

Here's my question: I get paid $2.19 hourly, plus tips, which are usually between $50 and $100 per shift. My last paycheck was for only $23 for two weeks worth of base salary work (74 hours). $139 was taken out in taxes.

Does this sound normal? I guess I'm being taxed on both my tips and hourly pay ... it just seems like such a small amount a lot of work.

Thanks so much for your help!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (193) / No (79) Reply - Report abuse

terra in Mchenry, Illinois

83 months ago

Hi where i live it is 4.50 an hour plus tips .. I generally make about 150.00 a shift .. My checks are about 140.00 +/- every 2 weeks ... We do not get taxed on our tips how can they tax our tips they don't know what we make LOL thats my bosses statement anyways

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (72) / No (46) Reply - Report abuse

Wild Orchid in Orlando, Florida

83 months ago

Wow! I didn't know waitresses/waiters had it so bad! It does seem like it's a lot of work for little pay.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (36) / No (42) Reply - Report abuse

rjones1963 in east peoria, Illinois

82 months ago

Waitressing Newbie in Bluffton, South Carolina said: Hi there.

Here's my question: I get paid $2.19 hourly, plus tips, which are usually between $50 and $100 per shift. My last paycheck was for only $23 for two weeks worth of base salary work (74 hours). $139 was taken out in taxes.

Does this sound normal? I guess I'm being taxed on both my tips and hourly pay ... it just seems like such a small amount a lot of work.