criminal record

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (35)

Carol Waters in Issaquah, Washington

73 months ago

I worked as an administrative assistant for 8 years until I had an almost life ending car accident in 2002. I have recovered almost completely, but I haven't worked since then. My other problem is this: I have somewhat of a criminal record. NO FELONIES, but I do have 3 or 4 shoplifting charges, lots of speeding and driving with a suspending license, and one poss of marijuana that is about to be dismissed. On the other hand, I have a masters degree, type 100+ per minute, am a published author and am an excellent administrative assistant. What do you think the chances are for my getting a job? Particularly, do you think that all temp agencies run your records and after having done so, would say hit the road jack?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (36) / No (19) Reply - Report abuse

Deborah James in San Francisco, California

72 months ago

Companies that run background checks are looking for felony convictions. Even then, you are given an opportunity to explain.

The other matters are not likely to come up, unless you are applying for a position that involves driving.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (14) / No (13) Reply - Report abuse

blueeyes in Woodbury, New Jersey

69 months ago