Correction Officer in Connecticut

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 2784)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Yanksfan77 in North Haven, Connecticut

60 months ago

Hey guys, i just passed my written exam last month and am scheduled for my pt may 1st. I have been trianing for the past 2 months and i am still very nervous. I am a big guy, 6'2 250 lbs, and i have been athletic all my life. Any tips anyone could give me would be great guys.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (23) / No (15) Reply - Report abuse

vetteguy in Middletown, Connecticut

60 months ago

If you've been athletic, don't worry too much.
Just train specifically for the events required.
A lot of hamstring stretching for flexibility, situps and pushups every day, and some running/sprinting and you should be fine.
I'm 6' 240, and 46 yrs old, and I, too, have been active most of my life, mostly in weight training/bodybuilding.
The only one that worries me is the run, since I've had knee cartilage surgery years ago, and I don't run much, but I've been doing a bit more, and feel OK, so I'm not sweating it.
I'm testing April 29th, so hopefully the weather is nice!
Best of luck!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (10) / No (7) Reply - Report abuse

Yanksfan77 in North Haven, Connecticut

60 months ago

THnaks a lot , good luck with your test aswell, once youve completed it post your resultts and the structure of the test lool if you dont mind.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

60 months ago

I'd offer this advice.
Don't drink or eat close to your test time.
Leave a couple of hours since your last meal, and only sip water up to the test.
Excess water(and food) in the stomach will definitely hurt your performance in the situp, perhaps not so much in the pushup or run.
I drank a bit of water prior to doing my situps earlier today, and it made it much tougher to crank the reps, felt pretty uncomfortable.