Female Crane Operators/ Riggers? Are there any out there?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 72)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

SMP_ in Newcastle, Australia

46 months ago

Am curious to know if driving cranes is a career choice women make in the U.S. There is only a few of us in Australia. I'd like to talk with my peers in my industry about our experiences.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

Dave Kay in Victorville, California

45 months ago

Hmmmm... well, I'm not exactly one of your "peers" but I've been an operator for 23 yrs and I can say that yes, there are a few females in the crane/rigging business here in The States and some of them do fairly well. But mostly we don't see them sticking around for year after year trying to make careers out of crane work... if that answers your question.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

45 months ago

You're welcome. The female to male ratio is probably at its lowest right now, meaning there a even less women in cranes, because there is very little work available for ANYONE here in The States. Curious, how is crane work there in Australia? Are you getting steady work, staying employed?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

SMP_ in Newcastle, Australia

45 months ago

Yeah work is good. We faired the downturn well thanks to our mining sector. Having said that, for 6 months from March 09, if you were in a job you were unhappy with, you didn't move on. The economy was bad, employers nervous and nobody was employing. I know some top notch riggers that were unemployed for that time as they finished a job in December 08, decided to have a bit of time off, then couldn't get on anywhere.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

misstaken in Denham Springs, Louisiana

43 months ago