Having no experience

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 181)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Foster in Saint Louis, Missouri

78 months ago

I'm interested in becoming a dental assistant. I have no experience in the field. Is it possible for dental facilities to hire you without dental knowledge and if so how difficult would that be? I've heard of people getting hired without prior experience, but would I be setting myself up for frustration. I've applied for assisting positions, but surprise surprise no one has called me for interviews.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (315) / No (50) Reply - Report abuse

Jessica in Baton Rouge, Louisiana

78 months ago

You can get a job, but it is hard because everyone wants experience. So keep trying someone will hire you. Good luck.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (34) / No (11) Reply - Report abuse

Carrie in Minneapolis, Minnesota

78 months ago

Have you had any schooling for Dental Assisting. I didn't have time to go to college but I did have time to go to a weekend program that was every Saturday, in office, hands on. With this I was able to get my foot in the door. I have been a dental assistant now for 15 years and I never went to college for it! Try to find somewhere that will do on the job training if you can't put in the time for school. Good luck! It is a great field to work in!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (47) / No (12) Reply - Report abuse

Jess in Baton Rouge, Louisiana

78 months ago

Thanks. no, I don't have any DA training. I do have a bach degree in biology. So i don't have the formal training but i do have some of the biology and chem background.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (12) Reply - Report abuse

caution in Toronto, Ontario

78 months ago

Jess, why not try sending out your resume or look in the job section and apply.

You may get lucky and find a dentist who is willing to train you on the job.