Remington College Dental Hygiene?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

liz0007 in Lebanon, Tennessee

44 months ago

Before I ramble on and on, is Remington College a good college for dental hygiene to learn how to become a dental hygienist? Like, would a dentist hire me if I graduated from there?

I have the option of going to UTHSC in Memphis or Remington College in Nashville. So far, it is the only and the first Remington College to offer the program. I checked it out and liked it. As far as accreditation, the faculty showed proof. I asked about financial aid and according to the faculty it would be $41,000 by the time I graduate. This covered my supplies, testing fees, books for whole program. According to them, the only thing it did not pay for was the shoes on my feet and my pencil and paper.

I looked at UTHSC, and the total is $33,333 for the whole program. This does not include books, testing examinations, parking fee, and the fact that I would have to purchase an apartment and move there. $500 per month for 2 years is about 46,000 together for those 2 years.

I have been in school for 3 years so I feel guilty for getting an associates even though it's the same people. I have a mentality in my head and I would love for someone to prove to me I have nothing to worry about. The UTHSC program is bachelors and Remington is associates.

What do you guys think I should do? Also, has anyone heard from the program and had people say if they like it? The first class has graduated yet so I'm not sure how it is.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

mwhite in Middletown, Ohio

33 months ago

Tennessee State University in Nashville also offers a bachelors degree program in dental hygiene. That way you wouldn't have to move. Cost is about 7K/semester.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

HayelyBrooke8 in Dickson, Tennessee

27 months ago